A commercial bank is a type of financial institution that provides services such as accepting deposits, making business loans, and offering basic investment products. A commercial bank can also refer to a bank, or a division of a large bank, which more specifically deals with deposit and loan services provided to corporations or large/middle-sized business – as opposed to individual members of the public/small business – retail banking, or merchant banks.


Commercial Banks refer to both scheduled and non-scheduled commercial banks which are regulated under Banking Regulation Act, 1949.

(a) Scheduled Commercial Banks are grouped under following categories:

1. State Bank of India and its Associates

2. Nationalised Banks

3. Foreign Banks

4. Regional Rural Banks

5. Other Scheduled Commercial Banks.

(b) Non-Scheduled Commercial Banks